The prestigious Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships (CSWWC) LINK, the toughest and most respected sparkling wine competition in the world, has published its results for 2018.

2018 best NV champagnes: Roederer Charles Heidsieck Piper Heidsieck

In the Brut Non-Vintage (NV) category, the “business card” of every Champagne House, the gold medals for the best champagne go to:
Charles Heidsieck NV Brut Réserve
Louis Roederer NV Brut Premier
Piper-Heidsieck NV Cuvée Brut

In the Rosé NV category, the gold medals go to:

-Charles Heidsieck NV Rosé Réserve
Deutz NV Brut Rosé

In the Prestige Cuvée category, the gold medals go to:

-Charles Heidsieck 2004 Blanc des Millénaires
Dom Pérignon 2002 P2
-Louis Roederer 2002, 2008 and 2009 Cristal
Moët & Chandon NV MCIII
-Piper-Heidsieck 1998 and 200 Rare
Ruinart 1998 Dom Ruinart (Blanc de Blancs)
Taittinger 2007 Comtes de Champagne (Blanc de Blancs)

In the Extra Brut category, the only gold medal goes to:
-Piper-Heidsieck NV Essentiel

For the full list of champagne gold medals and champagne categories visit CSWWC website.

CSWWC is the only international wine competition in which every wine is judged exclusively by world-class sparkling wine specialists: founder Tom Stevenson, Essi Avellan (MW), and Dr. Tony Jordan, together with permanent reserve judge George Márkus.

All wines are tasted blind and by origin to ensure medal winners are evaluated within the context of their typicality of provenance.

The judges are told it is a champagne, the grape varieties in order of importance (not the percentages as that would be a clue to the identity) and its style (Rosé, Blanc de Blancs, Vintage etc).

They are not told the residual sugar (RS) but only if Brut, Sec, Demi-sec etc, the price, or whether a wine is reductive or oxidative.

Each wine is conventionally assessed as either Gold, Silver, Bronze, No Award, Possibly Faulty or Definitely Faulty – BUT, unconventionally, only Gold and Silver medals are awarded, to ensure that all CSWWC medal-winning wines are very special.